Tri-Diesel

Diesel

Breed: English Setter

Sex: Male, Neutered 

Age: 4.5 years

Weight: Approx 50lbs

Location: Tennessee

Good with Dogs: Yes

Good with Cats: NO or chickens, ferrets, guinea pigs, etc.

Good with Kids: Depends on maturity level

Crate Trained:  Behaves well but doesn’t like it

Housebroken: Yes

Health: Good

Who’s A Good Boy? 

“Me! Diesel! I’m a GOOD BOY!”

I am a 4.5-year-old, male (altered), Tri-color English Setter and I weigh almost 50 lbs. I’m a fun-loving guy with a great big heart. My hobbies include long walks, cuddling on the couch, chasing cats, and going to the dog park. I’m a real nature lover and enjoy being outside, especially when my people are with me. My favorite time of day is when we take our walks (2 per day), looking for birds & squirrels and anything else that moves. I wiggle all over when I see my leash & harness, but I know how to be still while I get hooked up. I do pull kinda hard sometimes, but I will bring my “no-pull” harness to my new home. It helps make my walks enjoyable for everyone. 

 

As much as I love to be outside, I mostly like being wherever my people are so I’m a real gentleman inside the house.

I will wait patiently for you to clean my feet or dry me off (I love a towel rub, don’t you?). I won’t jump on you or your visitors. I will (usually) wait to be invited on the couch to snuggle. I am learning how to sit and lie down when asked (mostly I lie down because why not?) and I will scratch the door when I need to go out to take care of my business. I will also sleep right by your bed keeping watch all night long. I will let you know if a stranger (or deer) steps foot in my yard. I do know how to be a good boy in my crate, but I don’t like it. I have a lot of energy to burn so being confined for long periods is not my jam.  I can handle a few hours as long as I have a walk before and after. Otherwise, I might find my own way to burn energy. 

 

To be honest, I haven’t had a lot of experiences most dogs have. My foster mom says I may have been left alone

a lot in my past life, whether it was outside or inside in a crate. She thinks that’s why I don’t like being in a crate and why I will dig and chew things if I don’t get enough attention and exercise. That can cause frustration for everyone - so I NEED my exercise to be my best self. I don’t like yelling (or sudden movements). I have a huge heart and it can get bruised pretty easily. I’m a just a big ole lover boy, I love everyone I meet, even kids. But again, yelling & sudden movements make me nervous. I’m working on my confidence and courage but I’m a work in progress. Active is good, active is preferred but a loud household is not the place for me. One more thing about kids: maturity (rather than age or size) is what’s most important. I’m fast and I’m strong. If someone gives me half a chance; drops my leash, leaves a gate open, opens the front door or car - I will be gone. Gone hunting! And no amount of calling will make me come

back until I learn to love you more than I love hunting. That might take a while.

 

I do like playing with other dogs, but I have always been an only dog and I’m ok with that. Then again, I could probably learn a lot from a sibling that’s close to my size and age. I think cats (chickens, squirrels, chipmunks & birds) might be pretty tasty so my new home shouldn’t have any cats. Or chickens. I was bred for hunting, after all and my prey drive is super strong. I love hunting better than ANYTHING in the whole wide world. I will need a safe, secured, fenced area with plenty of room to romp with you and at least 5ft tall fencing for when I’m alone. I am very strong, and I chase everything (including cars) therefore, I am not a candidate for a tie out or cable runs. I am also not a candidate for off leash outings. I have been microchipped though, so that good. 

 

My foster parents are really nice and all; I have enjoyed every minute with them but I’m the kind of guy who wants to settle down with a place of my own so I’m on the hunt for a forever family who likes the same things I do. Do YOU like to be outside? Do YOU like long walks? I need 2 a day, you know. I’m a very good boy but I get antsy when I haven’t had enough exercise so that’s real important to keep me on my best behavior. Do you know how to play with toys? I never did before, I am just now learning, and I really want a home that likes to play so I can keep learning. Do you have a kind voice and lots of patience? I need to take things slow until I get used to them. And finally, do you like snuggles? I do love me some snuggles. I’m really good at that!!

DieselFHFront.jpeg